Jaume Plensa is a Spanish artist and sculptor whose works is displayed all around the world including the Crown Fountain at Millennium Park in Chicago, Illinois, United States and Blake in Gateshead, in North East England, a laser beam that on special occasions shines high into the night sky over Gateshead’s Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art.

I was given Plensa as an artist to research by Jo as his drawings tied in with the work I was looking at.

9cdfbafb69f1ccdfe8338ebfff3bd3a4

Part of his work that I find interesting is the typography that he has at the top of the pieces as I feel the word tells a story about the person photographed. I think that the word means something to them so it makes the drawings even more significant. I thought that this would be interesting to incorporate into my work.

fcdb51ca3dbef0b388cfdc972a6d0482 7849845_orig

I think that his drawings would be good to use an inspiration and I find that it is relevant to the artists that I am looking at however, it has a different style then the others.

http://jaumeplensa.com/index.php/works-and-projects/drawings/item/270-drawings-gallery-1

I had also looked at these pieces that Plensa had done and I found these quite interesting. I thought that it would be good to combine my wildlife photography with my portrait photography. I like how he uses black and white in his work as it adds contrast and shows different tones of black which I like working with.

I also like the use of overpainting on the photographs as its something I tried in fine art and enjoyed doing as it juxtaposes the pieces to form a new piece which is more interesting and adds a new meaning to it.

A 701166

plensa_10

http://jaumeplensa.com/index.php/works-and-projects/drawings/item/271-drawings-gallery-2

Leave a comment